Home » People

I co-lead the Physical Oceanography Group with Helen Johnson (Earth Sciences). We hold weekly group meetings along with Laure Zanna‘s Climate and Ocean Physics Group and Andrew Well‘s Ice and Fluid Dynamics Group, regularly attracting around 20 or more researchers. 

The following are people I have personally worked with in the recent past (with apologies to anyone I’ve overlooked): 

Post docs

Yavor KostovJulian Mak

Graduate students

Laura CimoliTwm JonathanKe Zhao

Recent collaborators

Lesley AllisonMaarten AmbaumScott Bachman, Sheldon BaconMike BellLiam Brannigan, Christian BuckinghamEd DoddridgeSybren DrijfhoutRaf FerrariDavid FerreiraPatrick Heimbach, Penny HollidayAndy HoggHelen Johnson, Andreas Klocker, Jonathan LauderdaleCamille Lique, Susan LozierJames MaddisonGurvan MadecAli MashayekDave Munday, Louis-Philippe NadeauAlberto Naveira GarabatoLenka NovakGeorge NurserHelen Pillar, So TakaoTalia TamarinMatt ThomasRic WilliamsLaure ZannaXiaoming Zhai

Recent visitors

Donata GiglioSarah GilleMarlos Goes, Andy HoggAndreas Klocker, Talia TamarinBendix VogelCarl Wunsch 

… and finally, to give a flavour of where people have ended up, my: 

Former post docs and students

Susan Adcock (Head, Knowledge Transfer Centre, University of Reading), Lesley Allison (Senior Scientist, Met Office), Maarten Ambaum (Professor, University of Reading), Lucy Bricheno (Research Scientist, National Oceanography Centre, Liverpool), Liam Brannigan (Data Scientist, Ireland), Adam Candy (Research Associate, Delft University of Technology), Lars Czeschel (Research Scientist, University of Hamburg), Rena Czeschel (Research Scientist, GEOMAR, Kiel), Stuart Daines (Research Fellow, University of Exeter), Tomos David (Post Doc, University of Oxford), Ed Doddridge (Post Doc, MIT), Mark Forshaw, Helen Johnson (Associate Professor, University of Oxford), Manoj Joshi (Professor, University of East Anglia), Graeme MacGilchrist (Post Doc, Princeton University/GFDL), James Maddison (Lecturer, University of Edinburgh), Stuart Moore (Meteorologist, NIWA, New Zealand), Dave Munday (Research Scientist, British Antarctic Survey), James Percival (Research Associate, Imperial College, London), Helen Pillar (Post Doc, University of Texas at Austin), Jeff Polton (Research Scientist, National Oceanography Centre, Liverpool), Malcolm Roberts (Manager, High Resolution Climate Modelling, Met Office), Jemma Shipton (Research Associate, Imperial College, London), Amrita Shravat (Mathematics Teacher, St Paul’s School), Šárka Tukova (Accountant), Geoff Stanley (cycling adventure), James Stephens (Computer Manager, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton), Claire Tansley (Senior Digital Economy Manager, EPSRC), Kuniko Yamazaki (Post Doc, University of Tokyo), Laure Zanna (Associate Professor, University of Oxford), Xiaoming Zhai (Lecturer, University of East Anglia)